Radhika's Diaries

Looking for a humor blog? You've come to the right place!

Hey!! I just surfaced from cleaning out my cupboard. And no, it had nothing to do with New Year resolutions…… When I opened the cupboard to look for something, lots of other things fell out on me – like water bursting out on all those lovely people in Titanic!!

Among the things (which I neatly shoved under the bed) I came across the poetic  invitation I’d made for my twins’ 10th birthday bash, years ago. I remember thinking I would do something different that year and came up with this idea, and I did it in just one sitting!! It was probably the poet in me bursting forth like all that water……. in Titanic!!  :/  And although I find it quite cheesy now, I’m going to put it out here ‘cos I guess it’s the best way to preserve my writings for posterity.

Disclaimer : The Shakespeares and Wordsworths out there might cringe a bit!!! But here it is…..

Friends, both near and dear
Kindly lend us your ears
We’re turning 10 this year,
And it’s time to cheer…
So bring out your party gear.

It’s the day we’ve been waiting for
Since the last 11 months and more…

We want you to come
And join in the fun.

The date is Twenty
Food, we assure you,  will be a-plenty
The month is October
Drinks, however, will be sober!

The venue is – Nihal
In their 1st floor Party hall 

   You can drop by at seven
The party may go on till eleven

And the Dress…..?
Now that’s something else!!!

All the Uncles and Aunts
Can come in Saris and pants
But children, children….
It’s a fancy dress party
So let’s all be sportive.

The theme is “Dresses of our nation”
So use your imagination
From Kerala to Kashmir
From Assam to Gujarat……

Come dressed in lehenga and choli
Lungi, dhoti or langoti!!! 😉

We’ll do the catwalk together
And give everyone some pleasure.

This is advance intimation in verse
The formal invitation will follow, of course.

With these few words sure to give you a laugh,
This is Anurag and Avinash signing off!

 

P.S. The little children came in different colourful costumes from around the country and the party was a huge success.

P.S.S. I know you’re dying to know but are too polite to ask – No one came in langoti!! 

🙂 🙂

 

11 thoughts on “The Poet in me….. !!

  1. Meena says:

    Haha! that’s a good poem. great people are born on 20 oct (wink wink)!

    Yeah, I am glad of the P.S.S. I did get that doubt! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 20 Oct!!! A big date indeed!!!
      And boy. Am I glad I clarified that point! 🙂

      Like

  2. floatinggold says:

    You wrote this when you were 10? That is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha!! You might want to visit the post again to verify that!!! Go ahead – I’ll get one more view 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a lovely poetic invite 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Deepika. thanks a lot!! 🙂 🙂

      Like

    1. HAHA. Glad you think so…! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Manas Dutta says:

    It’s awesome,hilarious and yeah, so lovely !!
    Mam, your way of describing things are indeed great… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry. It must look wierd that I’m replying so late. All comments from readers at this point of time have gone and sat in my spam. just discovered them !! 🙂
      Thanks for the lovely comments Manas.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Manas Dutta says:

        Ah.. No worries !!
        Goodness is needed to be discovered with surprise…so was the comment. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment